I don’t think we’ve been so busy with things to do and places to be in a very long time. I had set out to fill our social calendar this summer, but I hadn’t realized how exhausting it can be! I’m not complaining by any means, but for folks who are pretty mellow and uneventful we have broken our mold big time. Here’s an update of what’s going on here:
Our puppy Gus is growing quickly and is over 40 pounds now and just 4 months old. He’s a good dog, but like all puppies, is into everything.

My mother-in-law came and went.

I visited the bay area for work. Missing it terribly.

After the MIL left we spent 2 nights away from the kiddo on a grown-up weekend. I had purchased tickets to the police concert in Philadelphia back in the spring and we ventured up with some friends. I have to say that it was the BEST time ever. Yes, EVER. My friend Christina worked some crazy magic and got us some new seats in the 23rd row. I could see Sting’s belly when his shirt would go up. It was so awesome to be so close and enjoy such a wonderful concert. It was also a good break without the kiddo. We certainly missed her, but it was nice not to have to negotiate with someone to eat their dinner.

My cousin got married in July and we went to Pennsylvania for that as well. It was a small beautiful wedding just outside of Philadelphia. All of my family stayed at a hotel that claimed they had suites but were not suite-like in the slightest. The pool was a good distraction on a rainy morning and we got some good produce at a farmers stand and a traveling gnome for the garden.

This past weekend our good friends came down on the train from New York to visit us. We had a great time just catching up, watching the kids play and relaxing.

That brings us to today. My mamaw (yes, mamaw) is visiting with my parents for a few weeks. She will be 91 on the 18th and is very active, lively and funny. She came over to our house last week and was admiring the tomato trellises. When I told her Dave had built them, she said “well, isn’t he as handy as a pocket in a shirt”

Now isn’t that just the funniest thing you’ve heard.


