WE GOT TOMATOES

I have wanted to grow tomatoes for several years now. Living on the coast in the bay area was a less than ideal place for them to thrive. The fog and the constant mild temperatures were perfect for strawberries, but not tomatoes.

As spring was approaching this year I knew it was time to try my hand at growing some tomatoes. Since our raised bed plot is not ready this year, I got some containers and set to it. I have 3 different heirloom tomato plants, one purple pepper plant and a pot of strawberries. They are all doing great and growing right in front of my eyes. I swear one of the tomato plants grew 12 inches in a week. Dave was super awesome and built me wood trellises and covered them in netting so that the critters and birds can’t get to them.

Yesterday I was outside giving them a quick drink and noticed that there are 5 small green tomatoes on one of the plants. I’m super psyched that they are actually producing fruit.

Just a few more weeks until we can sit down and eat one of the first fruits from the vine. Yummy!

